Printer-friendly > Home > Current Students > Student Handbook > Program Management > Going to another University as a Visiting Student > Exchange Agreements > Western Deans' Agreement

Western Deans' Agreement

Under the terms of the Western Deans' Agreement, graduate students of the member institutions may take courses at another member institution without having to pay the host university's tuition fees. Students may be required to pay student, activity, application, or other ancillary fees to the host institution, according to general policies in effect at the host institution. Wherever possible, these fees will also be waived.

Students must have the Western Deans' Agreement Authorization form approved by the relevant Graduate Program Coordinator and the College of Graduate Studies at least one month prior to the commencement of the course(s) requested.  Host institutions may set earlier deadlines and it is the responsibility of the student to confirm the deadline with the host institution.  If the form is not received and approved in time, the student may not receive permission to take the course.

The fee waiver is not available retroactively. 

In order to receive transfer credit, if applicable, the student must provide a copy of the transcript from the host institution.  Please have the official  transcript forwarded to the College of Graduate Studies at UBC's Okanagan campus.

Partner institutions in the Western Deans' Agreement are:

  • Athabasca University
  • Brandon University
  • British Columbia Institute of Technology (BCIT)
  • Concordia University College of Alberta
  • Royal Roads University
  • Simon Fraser University
  • Thompson Rivers University
  • University of Alberta
  • University of British Columbia
  • University of Calgary
  • University of Lethbridge
  • University of Manitoba
  • University of Northern British Columbia
  • University of Regina
  • University of Saskatchewan
  • University of Victoria
  • University of Winnipeg

Last reviewed shim12/1/2015 10:33:20 AM